Tampa Bay Fence Co.An independent fence guide for the bay - we don't install, we explain.
Request a callback

Enter your number and we will call you back. Nothing else is required.

We do not install fences. Your request goes to a licensed contractor who works your area, and we may be compensated for the introduction.

Service Area

Tampa Bay Fence Permit Rules by City and County, 2026

Whether a fence permit is required in each Tampa Bay jurisdiction, which office issues it, the fee and its basis, and the code section behind each figure - with dates.

By Ray Vasquez · Published July 28, 2026 · Last checked July 28, 2026

Municipal code and fee schedule documents behind the Tampa Bay fence permit table
On this page
  1. Which authority actually governs your address
  2. The table
  3. The seven jurisdictions whose own text we have
  4. Where the record is thinner - and where it is empty
  5. What changed statewide on 1 July 2026
  6. Two columns nobody else publishes
  7. How this page is sourced, and where it was wrong before
  8. Confirm with your own office before you act
  9. Frequently asked questions

Check one jurisdiction

The same rows as the table above, one at a time. This tool never tells you a permit is unnecessary at your address: it reports what the named authority publishes and gives you the office to confirm with.

There is no single “fence permit” rule for this metro. In unincorporated Hillsborough, the county’s own codified law says fences require neither a zoning permit nor a building permit, while walls do. Unincorporated Pasco exempts a standard chain link, wood, PVC, or shrubbery fence outright. New Port Richey requires a permit for every fence regardless of material or height. And two of the three counties’ own fee schedules don’t name a fence as a line item at all, which turns “how much does it cost” into a classification question before it’s ever a lookup.

Find your authority in the table below, read that row on its own, and call the office listed before you order material. Every row is built to answer on its own, without you having read anything above it.

Which authority actually governs your address

Permitting authority follows where the parcel sits relative to a city’s corporate limits, not what the mailing address says. A “Tampa, FL” address can sit in unincorporated Hillsborough and be county-permitted. A “Clearwater” address can do the same inside unincorporated Pinellas. The postal designation on your utility bill tells you nothing about which office actually issues your permit.

Two routes settle it. Pull your parcel record from your county property appraiser’s site, which states the taxing jurisdiction directly. Or check the city’s own boundary map, where one is published, against your address. Neither takes longer than a few minutes, and skipping this step is the single most common reason someone calls the wrong office first. For how rules differ across the bay more broadly, see how fence rules differ across the bay.

The table

Three status labels run through every row below: confirmed (Tier 1) - a primary document, read directly, with its own date; corroborated (Tier 2) - consistent across independent sources, with any gap named in the same breath; and not established (Tier 3) - no reliable source found, with the office that can close it. A cell says what a named authority’s own document states, or it says “not established.” No prose below repeats a cell from this table - read the row itself.

Provenance ladder: Confirmed - 7 authorities. Corroborated - 5 authorities. Not established - 5 rows.

Master table: fence permit position by authority

Authority Permit required? Office (phone) Fee and basis License category Dimensional limits Source (section) As of
Unincorporated Hillsborough No for fences; yes for walls County building department (phone not published in this research) No fence line item; building without a permit carries a penalty of 100% of the fee None Height and setback limits - LDC §6.07.02.C.1 LDC §6.07.01.C, §6.07.02, Supp. 57, through Ord. 25-43 Aug. 13, 2025
Unincorporated Pasco Exempt for standard chain link, wood, PVC, or shrubbery fencing Building Construction Services / Planning and Development (phone not published in this research) Not published for the exempt case None - closed list of 32 categories Height, setback, sight triangle - LDC §1003, §530.6 Permit Exemptions List, rev. May 30, 2024; LDC §1003, §530.6, Supp. 20 Update 1, through Ord. 26-22 June 16, 2026
City of St. Petersburg No for fences and hedges meeting zoning with no footer; yes for walls and columns City building department Not published for the no-footer case Not established Height by yard position - LDR §16.40.040 City handout, updated July 18, 2025; LDR §16.40.040 July 18, 2025
Unincorporated Pinellas (dimensional) Not established - see below (727) 464-3888 Not published as a document at all - see below Fence Erection Specialty Contractor (PCCLB, 727-582-3100) Height by setback area - County Code §§138-3700-138-3706 Pinellas County Code §§138-3700-138-3706 Supp. 124, Mar. 24, 2026
City of Tampa (dimensional) Not established - see below Construction Services; City Clerk, 813-274-8397 Not established - see below Not established Height by yard position - Code §27-290.1 Code §27-290.1, Supp. 148, through Ord. 2025-152 Dec. 18, 2025
City of Clearwater (dimensional) Not established - see below City building department Not published in this research Not established Height by yard position - CDC §§3-801-3-808 CDC Art. 3 Div. 8 §§3-801-3-808, Supp. 55, through Ord. 9857-25 Dec. 4, 2025
City of Temple Terrace Not established beyond the fee schedule’s own listing City building department $75 for the first 250 linear feet, plus $0.25 per foot after that, residential and commercial alike Not established Not published in this research City Schedule of Fees Internally dated to roughly 2014, still linked as current
City of Pinellas Park Yes, per the city’s own FAQ City building department Not published Not established 4 ft front / 6 ft side and rear in most districts; visibility triangle named with no dimension given City FAQ, not codified text Undated
City of New Port Richey Yes, every fence, per a 2021 ordinance Disputed between two upstream renderings $35/$45 (FY2020 figure only; current fee delegated to a council resolution not retrieved) Not established Not published 2021 ordinance (section number and issuing office both disputed) FY2020 fee figure
City of Largo Contradicted: unconditional on the permit-types page; Ord. 2021-55 §7 exempts like-for-like replacement of 10 linear feet or less, gates 6 ft or less, pool barriers excluded City building department Not published Not established Not published Permit Types page (undated) versus Ord. 2021-55 §7 Both retrieved July 28, 2026
Port Richey, Dade City, Gulfport A permit process is confirmed to exist in each Each city’s own building department Not published in any of the three Not established Not published A submittal checklist, a site-plan requirement, and a named checklist heading, respectively Not stated
Oldsmar, Safety Harbor Inherit unincorporated Pinellas’s position, including its self-contradiction See unincorporated Pinellas, above Not published Not established Whether the county’s dimensional code applies inside these limits was never confirmed County service-area statement Not stated
Unincorporated Pinellas - permit position Not established - four of the county’s own pages contradict each other (727) 464-3888 - - - Building FAQ; permitting guide; residential portal; code-enforcement summary Checked July 28, 2026
Unincorporated Pinellas - fee Not established - not published as a document at all (727) 464-3888 Not established - - County fee page’s own instruction; budget-book endpoints Underlying schedule in force: FY25, effective Oct. 1, 2024
City of Tampa - permit position Not established - no fence line item, and the zoning code contains no permit language Construction Services; City Clerk, 813-274-8397 Two candidate fee rows exist; neither is confirmed as the fence rate - - Miscellaneous Projects fee schedule, eff. Oct. 1, 2018, upd. May 31, 2020 Checked July 28, 2026
City of Clearwater - permit position Not established after repeated attempts City of Clearwater building department - - - Fence-permit-application-checklist page (fails to retrieve) Checked July 28, 2026
Plant City, St. Pete Beach, Zephyrhills, Dunedin, Tarpon Springs Not established - no fence-specific source of any kind found Each city’s own building department - - - None found Not stated

The seven jurisdictions whose own text we have

Unincorporated Hillsborough. The codified language is direct: “Fences do not require zoning permits or a building permit… Walls require a building permit.” The dimensional text sits at §6.07.02, residential subsection C.1 - the county’s own supplement index has pointed to the wrong subsection before, so confirm C.1 if an older reference sends you elsewhere. The exempt-work list carries its own printed revision date. The fee schedule names no fence line item at all, and building without a permit where one is required carries a penalty equal to 100% of the fee. No fence license category exists here. What this looks like at a specific address is on the Riverview permit page, which sits in unincorporated Hillsborough.

Unincorporated Pasco. The exemptions list and the full fence section work together: a dimensional table by yard position, a finished-side-out requirement, and a newer rule at §1003.1.G banning chain link, welded wire, or similar fencing visible from a collector or arterial roadway outside industrial zoning (Ord. 24-45, effective November 12, 2024). Section 1003.1.D sets a 50% conformity threshold for nonconforming fences. The sight triangle sits at §530.6, not §530.7 - 3.5 feet high within 20-foot points, per FDOT Index 546, measured from grade at the finished paved centerline. Where an exception case is needed, average processing has run 7.17 days in this county’s own data. No fence license category exists; the competency list is a closed, numbered set of 32 trades. Two addresses in this county have pages of their own: Wesley Chapel and Land O’Lakes, both unincorporated Pasco, where the community development districts change who you call first.

City of St. Petersburg. The city’s own handout closes the question cleanly: no permit for fences and hedges that meet zoning requirements and have no footer; walls and columns do require one. The dimensional table runs by yard position, the finished-side rule is confirmed present, and “open fence” is defined as 25% opacity or less. The St. Petersburg page walks through the footer test as the counter applies it.

Unincorporated Pinellas, dimensional side. Height limits vary by setback area, measured from the lowest adjacent grade, with an 18-inch post exclusion, berms counted, and a separation rule for retaining walls. Corner visibility runs 15 feet. Materials are limited and barbed wire is capped. One documented absence matters here: no finished-side rule exists in this code, and that absence should never be stated as a requirement.

City of Tampa, dimensional side. Front yard limits run 3 feet for opaque materials, 4 feet for transparent ones; 6 feet where the abutting portion is residential, 8 feet where it’s non-residential or across an alley. Height is measured as an average across 8-foot intervals, not a single point. Materials come from a closed list, and exposed framing has to face the interior yard, with two written exceptions. Related sections matter too: §27-283.5 on visibility, §27-43’s 12-inch definition of what counts as a fence at all, a right-of-way ban at §27-153.3.3(c), and §27-53(c)(7), which states plainly that the zoning administrator has no authority to consider a private covenant. The Tampa page takes the unresolved fee classification further.

City of Clearwater, dimensional side. Chain link gets its own section, §3-805. Front yard runs 4 feet, with a mandatory 3-foot landscaped strip required above the 3-foot mark. Side and rear run 6 feet. Waterfront fencing within 20 feet of the water must be non-opaque and no taller than 4 feet. Retaining walls cap at 18 inches above grade. Finished side has to face out in required setbacks, and nothing goes in an easement or right-of-way without the city engineer’s sign-off. The Clearwater page sets out why this city’s permit position is still open, and what was tried to close it.

City of Temple Terrace. The one figure this city publishes with confidence is a fee: $75 for the first 250 linear feet, plus $0.25 per foot beyond that, the same for residential and commercial work. The state surcharge here is quoted at 1.5% with a $2 minimum, citing §468.631 alone. One honest flag: this fee schedule is internally dated to roughly 2014 and is still what the city links today. Use it, but know its age.

Where the record is thinner - and where it is empty

Pinellas Park publishes 4 feet front and 6 feet side and rear in most residential districts, 6 feet on all lines in a farm district, and a visibility-triangle requirement with no dimension attached - but it comes from an undated FAQ, not codified text, and it’s labeled here as exactly that. New Port Richey’s own 2021 ordinance requires a permit for every fence citywide, but two upstream renderings of that ordinance disagree on the section number and on which office actually issues it - published here as an unresolved conflict, not a guess at which one is right. Largo is worse: its own permit-types page states a permit is required unconditionally, including for like-for-like replacement, while its own Ord. 2021-55 §7 exempts replacement of 10 linear feet or less and gates of 6 feet or less, with pool barriers excluded from that exemption. Both documents belong to the city. This table shows the conflict and the phone number, and it does not pick a side.

Port Richey, Dade City, and Gulfport each confirm that a fence permit process exists - a submittal checklist in one, a site-plan requirement in another, a named checklist heading in the third - but fee and dimensional detail are a named gap in all three. Oldsmar and Safety Harbor inherit unincorporated Pinellas’s position, including its self-contradiction, according to the county’s own service-area statement, and whether the county’s dimensional code even applies inside those city limits was never confirmed. Don’t assume it does.

Then the genuine blanks: Plant City, St. Pete Beach, Zephyrhills, Dunedin, and Tarpon Springs, none of which turned up a fence-specific source of any kind. Plant City is the largest single gap in the Hillsborough group. St. Pete Beach does have a confirmed building department, the 8th Edition code, and a substantial-improvement packet - but that packet is a floodplain concept, and it is not a fence-repair rule. Each city’s own building department is the office that closes its blank.

What changed statewide on 1 July 2026

House Bill 803, now chapter 2026-63, Laws of Florida, section 8, created §553.79(1)(g). It requires a local government to “shall exempt” an owner of a single-family dwelling, or their contractor, from a building permit for “any work valued at less than $7,500.” Carve-outs apply to any property partially or entirely in a flood hazard area, and to electrical, plumbing, structural, mechanical, or gas work. A project can’t be split to duck under the threshold, and the exemption isn’t self-executing - a written request with the contract attached has to be filed. Here’s the open question the act itself leaves open: it never defines “structural,” never uses the word “nonstructural,” and the words “preempt” and “notwithstanding any ordinance” appear nowhere in it. Whether a fence counts as exempt work is unresolved in the statute’s own text, not a gap in this research.

Section 553.791 is the only Florida statute that names fences directly. It includes “fences and block walls more than 6 feet high” in the scope of a single-trade inspection or plans review, measured from the top of the wall to the bottom of the footing - a fourth measurement convention alongside the three you’ll find on the height and setback page. As amended, a jurisdiction that gives no written notice of plan deficiencies within 20 business days, or 5 for a single-trade review on a one- or two-family dwelling, sees the application “deemed approved as a matter of law.”

Every municipal document in the table above predates July 1, 2026: Tampa’s Supplement 148 (December 2025), Hillsborough’s LDC Supplement 57 (August 2025), Hillsborough’s exempt-work page (June 29, 2026, two days ahead of the act and already written to it), Pasco’s LDC Supplement 20 Update 1 (June 16, 2026), Pinellas’s Code Supplement 124 (March 2026), and Clearwater’s CDC Supplement 55 (December 2025). None of the codified fence text in this table has been revised in light of the act yet - that’s a fact about the codes, not a defect in this research. Hillsborough’s own implementation is worth naming because no competing source has it: the exemption isn’t automatic. It’s applied for through the HillsGovHub portal with the contract attached, and it’s unavailable in a flood hazard area.

Table: statewide changes, dated

Instrument What it does Effective date Does it reach a fence?
HB 803 / ch. 2026-63 Requires local governments to exempt a single-family owner or contractor from a building permit for work valued under $7,500, with flood-hazard and trade-specific carve-outs; not self-executing July 1, 2026 Unresolved in the statute’s own text
§720.3035(1)(c), same act An association may not require a building permit as a prerequisite for its own architectural review July 1, 2026 Not a municipal permitting rule
§553.791 Names fences directly in single-trade review scope; sets a deemed-approval clock of 20 business days, 5 for single-trade review on a one- or two-family dwelling 2026 statutes, as amended Yes - the only statute naming fences
§468.631 / §553.721 surcharge 1.5% with a $2 minimum, plus 1% with a $2 minimum, assessed on the permit fee Current Only where a permit issues

Two columns nobody else publishes

Licensing. Pinellas has a “Fence Erection Specialty Contractor” category, its scope defined March 21, 1995 and still on the PCCLB’s live license-type list. The board is still active in this trade - its 2026-2027 fee schedule lists a $250 application and a $150 county renewal. One honest gap: whether the board still issues new fence licenses or only maintains existing ones isn’t settled by either document available here. Call the PCCLB direct at 727-582-3100 if that distinction matters to you. Pasco does not license this trade at all - a closed, numbered list of 32 categories, and “fence” isn’t one of them. Hillsborough doesn’t either.

Repair versus replacement. The negative here is established across five separate primary documents: no jurisdiction in the three counties publishes a threshold at which a repair triggers a permit. Hillsborough states its own test plainly - structural versus non-structural, “regardless of cost.” Keep three separate ideas in three separate places, because merging any two of them produces a wrong answer: Pasco’s 50% figure at §1003.1.D is a conformity threshold for nonconforming fences, HB 803’s $7,500 is a project-value threshold for a permit exemption, and the repair-versus-replacement question is a third thing entirely, answered by no dollar figure at all.

How this page is sourced, and where it was wrong before

Five independent commercial sources once agreed that Tampa’s front-yard fence limit was 4 feet. The codified text says 3 feet for opaque materials. That gap is the whole argument for this page’s method: convergence among commercial sources is not confirmation, and five wrong answers agreeing with each other are still wrong.

On retrieval: six separate attempts failed against a JavaScript-rendered code viewer before the same text turned up behind a public API that also returns the supplement number, the “codified through” ordinance, and the post date - which is where every codified citation on this page actually came from. Every Tampa figure here rides with one standing caveat: Municode’s own product record notes the platform, and the City Clerk’s office ([email protected], 813-274-8397) is the right contact if a figure here ever needs to be checked against the city directly.

Data gathered and verified against primary sources: July 28, 2026. Re-verify this whole table at least every six months, and immediately after any local budget-cycle fee update or any local implementation of the July 1, 2026 change. Any cell carrying an unresolved classification question gets reconfirmed by phone with the named office before it’s converted from “not established” to a figure.

Confirm with your own office before you act

Every row above names an office. Use it, and don’t stop at the first page that answers. Pasco splits this work across two offices - Building Construction Services and Planning and Development - so ask which one handles your specific request before you assume either does. Pinellas carries four separate county pages that don’t agree with each other on the basic permit question, and that four-way contradiction gets resolved by a phone call to (727) 464-3888, never by picking whichever page loaded first. This table never tells you a permit is unnecessary in your case; it tells you what the named authority publishes, and routes you to the office that can answer for your specific address.

Frequently asked questions

Do I need a permit for a fence in Tampa Bay? It depends on which authority governs your parcel - there’s no metro-wide answer. Find your row above; if it says “not established,” call the office listed.

How much is a fence permit here? Where a fee is published, the table gives it with its schedule and date. Where none exists, the table says so - unincorporated Pinellas has no fence fee published as a document at all.

Which office do I call for my address? Your parcel’s jurisdiction decides this, not your mailing address. Check your county property appraiser’s record first, then use the office column above; Pasco splits the work across two offices.

Did the new $7,500 law mean I don’t need a permit any more? Not necessarily. HB 803 requires an exemption for work under $7,500, with carve-outs, and it isn’t automatic. Whether a fence counts is unresolved in the act’s own text, and no local code here has been revised in light of it yet.

Does a fence contractor need a license here? Only in Pinellas, which licenses a “Fence Erection Specialty Contractor” category and is still issuing renewals. Pasco and Hillsborough license no fence-specific category.

Does replacing a section of fence need a permit? No jurisdiction here publishes a repair threshold - Hillsborough says the test is structural versus non-structural, “regardless of cost.” That’s separate from Pasco’s 50% conformity rule, which is about nonconforming fences, not repairs.

Find your authority first, then read your row - and call the office in that row before you order material.

This table owns the permit position; it links out rather than repeating detail that belongs elsewhere. Every dimensional cell points to the measurement conventions these limits compress instead of restating them. For the procedure: what to file, who files it, and what it costs to skip, or where a jurisdiction wants a survey with the submittal, those live on their own pages.

Sources

Claim group Primary source As of
Hillsborough permit position, dimensions, exempt list, fee schedule, licensing LDC §§6.07.01.C, 6.07.02, Supp. 57 through Ord. 25-43; hcfl.gov “Work Exempt from Permits”; Building Permit Fee Schedule; contractor-license packet Aug. 13, 2025 / June 29, 2026 / Oct. 5, 2024 / Jan. 2026
Pasco exemptions, dimensions, chain-link visibility ban, 50% rule, sight triangle, licensing Permit Exemptions List, rev. May 30, 2024; LDC §§1003, 530.6, Supp. 20 Update 1 through Ord. 26-22; competency list, rev. Jan. 2, 2024 June 16, 2026
St. Petersburg permit position and dimensions City handout, upd. July 18, 2025; LDR §16.40.040 July 18, 2025
Pinellas dimensions, measurement, visibility, materials, documented absence of a finished-side rule County Code §§138-3700-138-3706 Rev. Oct. 2022; Supp. 124, Mar. 24, 2026
Tampa dimensions and supporting sections Code §§27-290.1, 27-283.5, 27-43, 27-153.3.3(c), 27-53(c)(7), Supp. 148 through Ord. 2025-152 Dec. 18, 2025
Clearwater dimensions and chain-link class CDC Art. 3 Div. 8 §§3-801-3-808, Supp. 55 through Ord. 9857-25 Dec. 4, 2025
Temple Terrace fence fee line City Schedule of Fees Internally ~2014, still linked today
Largo’s two contradictory documents Permit Types page; Ord. 2021-55 §7 Both retrieved July 28, 2026
Pinellas fee non-publication County fee page’s own instruction; budget-book endpoints FY25, eff. Oct. 1, 2024; checked July 28, 2026
HB 803 as enacted; the association clause Ch. 2026-63, Laws of Florida, s. 8 Approved May 6, 2026; effective July 1, 2026
Fences named in statute; deemed approval Fla. Stat. §553.791 2026 statutes
Surcharge resolution Fla. Stat. §§468.631, 553.721 2026 statutes
Tampa publisher caveat Municode product record; City Clerk contact Sept. 22, 2021

Data gathered and verified against primary sources: July 28, 2026.

This page reports what each named authority publishes; it is not legal advice, and it does not tell any specific reader whether a permit is unnecessary in their case. The site installs no fences, holds no contractor license, processes no permits, and represents no authority. Fee figures expire fastest, since most local schedules run on an annual or biennial budget cycle; dimensional and section figures expire next. Confirm your row with the named office before you act.

Code and permit claims reviewed by Dana Whitfield, CGC.

Ray Vasquez, author

Ray Vasquez

Twenty-two years installing fence in Hillsborough and Pinellas, then four as an estimator. He does not install fences and has no stake in what you buy. More about how this site works.

Dana Whitfield, CGC, reviewer

Code and permit claims reviewed by Dana Whitfield, CGC, certified building code inspector.
Florida-licensed general contractor, certified building code inspector. How we check facts: our sources and limits.

Want a quote read by someone who has no stake in it?

We do not install fences. Tell us what you are planning and we pass the request to a licensed contractor who works your area.

Request a callback

Enter your number and we will call you back. Nothing else is required.

We do not install fences. Your request goes to a licensed contractor who works your area, and we may be compensated for the introduction.

Advertiser disclosure. This page can earn us money. If your request reaches a contractor through the form or the phone number above, we may be compensated for that introduction. It has never determined what any page on this site says, and no contractor has editorial input. We hold no contractor licence of our own and perform no work.